Email The City of Rogers

Go to RogersArkansas.com Home Page
Rogers Weather    Wednesday, April 16, 2014
City Contacts Community Pages Business Pages City Services Rogers Lowell.com

» Police Reports Online » Programs » Police FAQ » Divisions » Recruitment » Other Contacts » Home

 

Police FAQ  
You can contact us at:
Rogers Police Department
1905 S. Dixieland
Rogers, Arkansas 72758
(479) 621-1172
police@rogersarkansas.com
Please note:  The Police email address is only checked during business hours; it is not monitored after 5 pm or on weekends.  For an Emergency - call 911
For an Emergency
CALL 911

 

Cell Phones & Driving
The state of Arkansas does not have any current regulation or law against the use of cellular telephones while operating a motor vehicle. However a citation is possible for careless driving if one is unable to maintain normal control of their vehicle while using a cellular telephone.

Ordinance #09-93 The Use of Cell Phones in School Zones*
this ordinance restricts the use of cell phones and other communication devices in designated School zones when school zone speed limits are applicable.  This does not apply to the use of hands free devices.

Child Seats*
Arkansas State Statute 27-34-104 requires that every driver who transports a child under the age of 6 years and under 60 pounds must be secured in a child passenger restraint system meeting federal safety standards. If the child is at least 6 years of age or at least 60 pounds in weight a safety belt is sufficient. All children under the age of 15 must use a seat belt. *These statutes are not direct quotations. Please see given statute numbers for exact statute.

DWI & DUI*
According to Arkansas State Statute 5-65-103 it is unlawful for any person who is intoxicated to operate a motor vehicle. Section b of the statute states that any person with a blood alcohol level of .08% and above is considered to be intoxicated. The formal charge is Driving While Intoxicated.

State Statute 5-65-303 makes it unlawful for any underage person to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of an alcoholic beverage or similar intoxicant. Section b states that an underage person (under 21) with a blood alcohol level of at least .02% but less than .08% is considered to be under the influence. The formal charge is Underage Driving Under the Influence.

Noise Ordinance*
According to City Ordinance Chapter 42, Article II Sec. 42-31 no person shall create unreasonably loud, disturbing and unnecessary noises within the city. Furthermore, no personal shall create noise of such character, intensity or duration as to be detrimental to the life or health of any individual or in the disturbance of the public peace and welfare.

Child Custody*
According to Arkansas state laws no person shall interfere with child custody orders issued in a court decree. Interference with Child Custody is described in State Statute 5-26-502 "A person commits the offense of interference with court-ordered custody if, knowing that he or she has no lawful right to do so, he or she takes, entices, or keeps any minor from any person entitled by a court decree or order to the right of custody with the minor."

The State of Arkansas considers a child to be in joint custody when the parents are legally married and do not hold any court decrees that state specific custody orders.

If a child custody decree has been issued said decree will state the primary custodian. That person is granted full custody of all children listed in the court decree except where stated by the decree or order.

Public Intoxication*
According to Arkansas State Statute 5-71-212 a person commits the offense of public intoxication if he appears in a public place while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance to the degree and under circumstances such that he is likely to endanger himself or other persons or property, or that he unreasonably annoys persons in his vicinity.

Section c of the same statute provides that a person commits the offense of drinking in public if that person consumes any alcoholic beverage in any public place or on any street, passenger coach, streetcar, or in any vehicle commonly used for the transportation of passenger, or other public place other than a place of business licensed to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises. *These statutes are not direct quotations. Please see given statute numbers for exact statute.

Ordinance #09-50 False Alarm Ordinance*
Whenever police department personnel respond to an activated alarm system, the police official in charge of the incident shall determine if the response was caused by a false alarm and shall indicate that  fact upon the incident report.

The police department shall regularly review incident reports to monitor the accumulation of false alarms at any one location.  When two fake alarms have occurred at the same location within one year, the police department shall notify the alarm user by letter, citing the location and date of each false alarm.  The letter shall recommend that appropriate action be taken on the part of the alarm user to alleviate the causes of false alarms and shall include a statement that an accumulation of more than three false alarms within a year shall result in a charge for services.  Another similar letter shall be sent when three false alarms have occurred at the same location within the year.  Any "false alarms", to which the department responds, after the third false alarm in a one year period will result in civil penalties.

*These statutes/ordinances are not direct or complete quotations.  Please see given statute/ordinance numbers for exact information.

City Contacts | Community Pages | Business Pages | Rogers GIS